Sunrise of Winchester

Testimonials

Share This Page
Recommended on carehome.co.uk

These testimonials have been independently checked by Carehome.co.uk


My newly widowed aunt moved to Sunrise in June 2019. From the start all staff were kind and caring, taking a real interest in getting to know her. The accommodation, food and activities are wonderful and really helped her to settle. She was able to create a home from home in her room, with her own furniture and pictures. She thoroughly enjoyed all the activities, outings, flower arranging, visits from singers, school children, animals - it all made for an interesting and varied life. The family visited often and were always welcomed warmly. The Bistro's endless supply of tea, coffee, homemade cakes is a wonderful place to meet up. During the current situation, Sunrise was well prepared. The staff have gone above and beyond in caring for the residents - taking a mobile phone to the room so that we could see each other totally amazed my aunt! Sadly, she passed away last month, but it helps us to know that she was very well cared for and that staff she knew were with her.

Review relates to June 2020.

How likely would you be to recommend Sunrise of Winchester? Extremely Likely

21 Jun 2020 by Jo A Niece of Resident/Service User

Sunrise of Winchester has been home for my parents for the last 5 years, until that point they had lived a happy independent life of retirement. We selected Sunrise of Winchester because the senior team were reassuring and addressed our concerns and worries for this rapid change of lifestyle. Five years later some of the staff have changed, but the level of support and dignity given, has not. The nursing care has been on the whole excellent and the close proximity to a very good medical practice as well as nearby hospitals means there is strong all round support. The food has been consistently good to excellent. Menus with wine are varied and interesting, this is not institutionalised food. Afternoon tea and homemade cakes and pastries in the Bistro are legendary. The activities team are superb, endless patience and creativity. The facilities and gardens are very well maintained, no nasty institutional odours here! Sunrise of Winchester has delivered for us.

Review relates to June 2020.

How likely would you be to recommend Sunrise of Winchester? Extremely Likely

10 Jun 2020 by Jane B Daughter of Resident/Service User

My father spent his last 2 and a half years in both Assisted Living and Reminiscence and my mother was also at Sunrise for her last 4 and a half years, some time ago. The team provided outstanding care for both of them and unfailing support for our family. The facilities, garden, food and activities are excellent, especially the bistro which we all enjoyed. The culture is one of respect, dignity and kindness and staff stay a long time and get to know the residents well. I will never forget the tenderness and compassion with which my father was always treated by the dedicated nurses and carers, especially during his last days in April 2020, when exemplary care ensured he was as peaceful and comfortable as possible. My daughter and I were also incredibly well supported by the staff during this difficult time and we have always felt part of Sunrise, being warmly welcomed whenever we visited. Huge thanks to all the team from our family, you are truly amazing in your kindness and dedication.

Review relates to April 2020.

How likely would you be to recommend Sunrise of Winchester? Extremely Likely

31 May 2020 by Penny S Daughter of Resident/Service User

I have been helped to feel very welcome here and I am well pleased with the big window and 'green' outlook that I have here. There seems to be a general feeling of friendliness between staff/residents and it has been quite a pleasant experience for me so far, especially as my husband had died just a few months before I came to reside here.

Review relates to May 2020.

How likely would you be to recommend Sunrise of Winchester? Likely

19 May 2020 by Freda P Resident / Service User

All the staff are extremely kind and friendly. It is more than just caring, they become good friends too.

Review relates to May 2020.

How likely would you be to recommend Sunrise of Winchester? Extremely Likely

19 May 2020 by Kathleen B Resident / Service User