Sunrise of Winchester

Testimonials

Share This Page
Recommended on carehome.co.uk

These testimonials have been independently checked by Carehome.co.uk


We decided Mum was unsafe in her own home and had become quite infirm, still enjoyed socialising and eating out, but was simply unsafe in her own home. We persuaded her to have a month in Sunrise, under the guise of getting her strength back, to see if she would enjoy it but mainly to keep her safe. It was a transformation and she delighted in the company and activities. She loved having her hair and nails done and actually had them done the week before she died. The staff are all simply brilliant and teased her mercilessly once they knew her character, but she gave as good as she got! When she started to deteriorate the staff were all fantastic treated her with respect and at no time was her dignity compromised. The care towards the end was truly humbling and we simply could not have asked for more. Support for the family was always there and totally non-judgemental. It was a very hard decision to put Mum in a home but I truly believe she would agree it was the right thing to do.

Review relates to February 2020.

How likely would you be to recommend Sunrise of Winchester? Extremely Likely

12 Jul 2020 by Margaret D Daughter of Resident/Service User

Sunrise have managed the pandemic admirably, providing as many methods as possible to contact my mum and looking after the residents with such empathy and care despite such difficult circumstances. What has meant most is the sacrifices individual staff members have made working longer hours and shielding themselves from the outside world to reduce risk to residents.

Review relates to June 2020.

How likely would you be to recommend Sunrise of Winchester? Extremely Likely

09 Jul 2020 by Susanna M Daughter of Resident/Service User

My mother moved into Sunrise Care Home in November 2019 at the age of 96 having lived independently until she became ill the previous July. The staff have shown care and consideration, warmth and friendliness throughout. Nobody talks down to her. In May, my mother's health was obviously going downhill a little which culminated in her suffering a stroke. But due to the watchful eye of the medical staff and the team in general, she was found very quickly and admitted to hospital. She has made a reasonable recovery but has lost a little more of her cognitive ability including her vocabulary.

Review relates to May 2020.

How likely would you be to recommend Sunrise of Winchester? Extremely Likely

09 Jul 2020 by Pat H Daughter of Resident/Service User

Sunrise Winchester reacted extremely quickly to the threat of the COVID-19 virus, putting measures in place even before lockdown was declared nationally. Visiting was reduced to protect the vulnerable residents, but I received updates from the Winchester team and more widely from Sunrise. Initially, the residents were COVID-19 free and whilst they were kept very busy with activities, the regular video calls with my mother helped put my mind at ease. Even after the virus affected some residents the staff stepped up again and worked so hard to get on top of the infection. I know that they have gone above and beyond what is expected; with some moving into the home and many working long shifts and more days a week than normal in order to avoid the need to employ agency staff who, by the nature of their work, could transmit the virus between care homes. I will be eternally grateful to these wonderful, dedicated, and caring Sunrise staff who risked their own safety to care for the vulnerable. Thanks.

Review relates to May 2020.

How likely would you be to recommend Sunrise of Winchester? Extremely Likely

07 Jul 2020 by Lisa Daughter of Resident/Service User

I have been bowled over by the commitment and care the staff have given to my Mum during the coronavirus crisis. Even going out of their way to organise weekly FaceTime calls so that Mum and I could easily keep up regular contact and ’see’ each other. Nothing has been too much trouble and the staff haven't complained despite being in such a challenging situation themselves. They have taken great care with safety procedures and shown a lot of patience and resilience from day one. I am full of respect and gratitude. Thank you!

Review relates to June 2020.

How likely would you be to recommend Sunrise of Winchester? Extremely Likely

03 Jul 2020 by Caroline Daughter of Resident/Service User