Sunrise of Edgbaston

Testimonials

Share This Page
Heart icon

Resident and Family Testimonials

No one describes their experience at Sunrise of Edgbaston better than our very own residents and families. Read some of our favourite testimonials below.

"Live as you want to live"

Resident Joan Cleaver shared her thoughts on how her decision to move into a care home left many of her friends feeling wary. But, they needn't have worried. Joan is happy to be with Sunrise.

See Joan's testimonial by clicking here.

"Friendly, respectful and patient..."

Read how one family shared their feelings about moving a loved one into the part of our care home that is dedicated to dementia care. It's never an easy decision, even when it is for the best.

Click here to read more.

"Moving Dad into Sunrise"

Two sisters eloquently describe the challenges, doubts and emotional rollercoaster their family experienced as they tried to find the right home for Dad.

See their story by clicking here.

Recommended on carehome.co.uk

These testimonials have been independently checked by Carehome.co.uk


My mum had been struggling with the effects of Alzheimer’s and couldn’t continue living independently and needed 24/7 care urgently. I contacted another home, no rooms were available. That home's manager asked the manager of Sunrise of Edgbaston to contact me. Thankfully we were able to move Mum to Sunrise two days later on 14th August 2020. Mum had been assessed the day before which had been very thorough with discussing everything we needed to know. It was a traumatic day when we moved Mum into Sunrise. With the team's help we all calmed down and decided it was the best place for Mum to stay. Everyone was so kind, thoughtful and respected how we were feeling and didn’t rush us in any way. Mum has been having a lovely time since being in sunrise and it has improved her life immensely. My mum is now safe and being cared for by caring and experienced staff. I would highly recommend Sunrise to anyone.

Review relates to August 2020.

How likely would you be to recommend Sunrise of Edgbaston? Extremely Likely

26 Aug 2020 by Tracy P Daughter of Resident/Service User

All staff are very caring and provide great individual attention to Mum. She is very happy at Sunrise and has been over the last six years. Connection with us as family members is very good and we are always made to feel welcome when we visit. All areas of the home are exceptionally well maintained and very clean. Food choice is good and Mum has access at all times to tea, coffee and snacks should she require. The staff have a wide selection of activities to choose from to keep all residents stimulated.

Review relates to June 2020.

How likely would you be to recommend Sunrise of Edgbaston? Extremely Likely

29 Jun 2020 by Heather P Daughter of Resident/Service User

My family are very grateful for the care and support that is given to our mother who is 93years, by Sunrise Edgbaston, both recently and over the years. Especially since the pandemic began, we were pleased to have received updates about national and local implementation of policies by Sunrise to limit the risks of Covid-19 although this meant the suspending visits. This communication was welcome and the measures effective until, in May, my mother was one of a handful of people who tested positive for the virus and became increasingly ill. Having previously instigated a 'hospital avoidance' plan in conjunction with Sunrise and the local GP, meant that although she became very ill, she remained 'at home' in an environment and with staff that she had been familiar with since 2010. She was cared for, including oxygen treatment, in a very professional way with appropriate support and medical direction from GP. Despite some very dark moments, the dedication of the staff helped her to recover.

Review relates to May 2020.

How likely would you be to recommend Sunrise of Edgbaston? Extremely Likely

24 Jun 2020 by Matthew S Son of Resident/Service User

Moving our Dad into assisted living was the hardest decision we have ever had to make. We genuinely did not believe that anyone else could look after him like we did. Sunrise has proved to us already that they can meet our standards, but also provide Dad with a far better level of medical and social care. The timing for Dads move couldn’t have been at a worse time, at the beginning of May, at the height of the Covid-19 infection rates within the UK. The team at Sunrise went above and beyond to reassure us that they would take care of Dad and keep him safe. Dad did struggle to settle initially for the first two weeks, he was confused and upset, but their patience and support was endless, both with us ( we phoned them lots!) and Dad. After two weeks, Dad is loving the gardens, the food, the staff. We’ve been impressed with the communication, attention to detail, and genuine desire to ensure the residents enjoy each day!

Review relates to June 2020.

How likely would you be to recommend Sunrise of Edgbaston? Extremely Likely

18 Jun 2020 by Rachel H Daughter of Resident/Service User

During Covid-19 with the Government guidelines, we are not able to visit loved ones - Sunrise kept us up to date with all the necessary precautions, and care taking place and made sure we kept in contact by regular phone calls and letters. I am pretty certain that had my aunt not received 24-hour care from Sunrise, she would not be here.

Review relates to May 2020.

How likely would you be to recommend Sunrise of Edgbaston? Extremely Likely

20 May 2020 by Sharon M Niece of Resident/Service User